IEC BY-ELECTIONS A SUCCESS AS ANC RETAINS WARD 10

BAKENBERG: The Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) in Limpopo held successful byelections on the 12th December 2018 in Mogalakwena Local Municipality, Bakenberg Cluster.

In those elections, the African National Congress (ANC) retained Ward 10, with its councillor candidate Kgadile September Majadibodu being voted in as the new councillor following the resignation of councillor Rosinah Masipa.

The Mogalakwena Local Municipality Mayor, Her Worship Cllr Andrina Matsemela appreciates the support that the ANC received in that ward.

In brief Mayor Matsemela who is humbled by the confidence that ward 10 residents demonstrated in the ANC, congratulated councillor Majadibodu and thanked everyone who participated throughout the election process.

Matsemela emphasised that Councillor Majadibodu must work hard to meet the expectations of the people who voted for the organisation.

The ANC won by 1538 votes, EFF-426, PAC-72, COPE-39 and UDM-11.

Majadibodu was a few days later officially sworn in at Mogalakwena Magistrate's Court as the Ward 10 Councillor in Mogalakwena Local Municipality.

On the 12th December the following voting stations were opened:

Character and to the total Batterian in the capacitan			
VD number	Voting station	Village	Registered voters
76480140	Kgopedi Primary School	Taolome	329
76480184	Serema High School	Van Wykspan	328
76480230	Leubaneng Primary School	Marulaneng	1297
76480386	Selwaboshigo School	Goedehoop	234
76480397	Masipa Primary School	Ga Masipa	263
76480409	Malokong Primary School	Pudiakgopa	1009
76480476	Rabasotho Primary School	Mautjane/Kwenaite	743
76481073	Kgomo Shia Kwena Primary	Marulaneng	474
	School		
76481208	Lephadimisha Secondary School	Goodhope	46

The following candidates were contesting the by-election on behalf of their parties:

- 1. African National Congress Kgadile September Majadibodu
- 2. Congress of the People Mpando Silas Nkhumane
- 3. Economic Freedom Fighters Malesela David Matlala
- 4. Pan Africanist of Azania Lobohang Petrus Pila
- 5. United Democratic Movement Mashita Lina Ngale